Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 29th, 2007

blessed

i have the best seventeen year old brother in the world.

[exchange through email]

ian: love you

christy:  love you, more.  m*wah!

ian: well i know better than to argue with women.

Hahahahaha.  Not only is he loving, supportive, fabulous, intelligent, kind, strong, creative, funny, and engaging but he’s also WISE!

Read Full Post »

Last night, I tossed and turned in bed. I eventually got up, wandered around for a bit, climbed back into bed, tossed and turned some more…then got out of bed, yet again, found a note from my roommate just outside my door which made me smile, went to the kitchen, had a glass of water, climbed back into bed, and continued to be restless.

Turning onto my side, I slipped my hand underneath one of my pillows upon which my head was rested and was startled to feel something cold and scaly…I quickly grabbed it and realized it was…an orange.

I proceeded to burst out laughing, for I realized it was the work of none other than my former roommate Anna, who must have been in the apartment earlier that evening.

We have a long history together; well, I should say, I have a long history of being on the receiving end of many of Anna’s pranks, pranks including desecrating my bed with various objects. One night, I fell into bed exhausted, only to hit my head on a large, hard butternut squash. That was a first.

Another night, I started climbing into bed, exhausted, and slipped my fingers under my pillow while I was turning down the bed sheets and felt something furry…I flung back my pillows only to find a dead skunk in my bed. Yes, a skunk. I screamed bloody murder – enough that Anna and her now-husband, who were outside at the time about a block away, heard me. She had taken a real skunk’s skin and placed it under my pillow, making good her threat of putting “road kill” in my bed.

At my scream, she came running into the house, up the stairs, and started laughing at me, upon which I started to hit her with the skunk skin.

So even though we no longer live together, and I miss her like crazy, she still manages to torment my bed chambers with her “gifts.” Crazy how one lone orange can make you feel right at home.

Read Full Post »