Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 6th, 2008

please

Can you just take me back to the beginning?

Read Full Post »

blood boiling

I get so worked up about politics that for the last eight years, I’ve really tried to ignore them…
As of this summer, I’m back in, again…but trying not to bite the hook fully.
Once a love, always a love?
There was the time I’d listen to political talk radio for 6 – 10 hours a day (when I was a young teen). My parents thought I was nuts. ;p
I do wonder how it would work, being married to someone who held almost completely opposite political worldviews if you chose not to ignore the differing belief systems. I know it’s been done – but I do have to wonder, does the couple only hold their beliefs tenuously, refuse to talk about them with each other, or secretly or openly lack respect for the other’s held beliefs? I do not see how a close, intimate, supportive partnership can be formed when really, some of the underlying, fundamental principles and worldviews that divide the two political parties really clash with each other when given flesh in real life decision-making; how would you run a household or raise children when certain beliefs may come into clash? While a lot of the rhetoric may be the same when both parties campaign, when you take certain party platform positions and follow the threads down to the basic beliefs, you start to see a clash of worldviews. I’m curious how it works for those couples. Or maybe people don’t parse their beliefs as thoroughly as I tend to and just vote party line and don’t think about what worldview they are actually espousing when they cast their vote.

Blah.
I have a love/hate relationship for politics. I’m a lot more liberal than when I started my journey but still hardcore right on many issues – is that even possible? I’d like to believe so. As such, neither party suits me well and I’m no longer comfortable in my political skin. If I could just create my own candidate with a good dose from the left, a good dose from the right, throw in a little libertarian and some of this and some of that, I’d be a happy camper. But label me a moderate, and I’ll want to bite your head off.

My ideal? Only in a perfect world, eh? And by then, we won’t need politics.

Read Full Post »

yeah

I’ve lost my voice as evidenced by the lack of posts here. Not sure when I shall snap out of it and desire to write again; perhaps by even posting this post, I will have broken the dam and the floodwaters will come again.

Too dramatic? Perhaps. But the reality is I have had no desire to write. Which is not like me at all…when I’m hurting or going through a hard time, I usually write; except when it’s too much and I just completely shut down.

I’m only able to scratch the surface here in this blog because while for some, it may not seem like it, I am an extremely private person, but I have been going through one of the best and hardest times of my life on a few different fronts. Paradoxical? Perhaps, but welcome to my life. Welcome to the world.

Thanks for caring.

On other fronts, I am thankful for musician friends. I cannot imagine losing the gift of friends who write and play music…it’s such an awesome enrichment in one’s life to have people you know and value creating music around you. I love it. One of the best things in life. :)

Read Full Post »